The Presidents of Ghana since 1960

The President of the Republic of Ghana is the elected head of state and head of government of Ghana, as well as Commander-in-Chief of the Ghana Armed Forces.

The current President of Ghana is Nana Akufo-Addo, who won the 2016 presidential election against the incumbent, John Dramani Mahama, by a margin of 9.45%. Akufo-Addo was sworn into office on 7 January 2017

The official residence of the President of Ghana is the Flag Staff house. It was previously the Osu Castle and was moved to Flag Staff house after it’s construction.

Each President can serve for only two terms with each term been four years. So in all each president can only serve for a maximum of eight years.

Below is the list of the Presidents Ghana has had since 1960, when Ghana became a Republic.


Kwame Nkrumah1st July, 196024th February, 1966Convention People's Party
Joseph Ankrah24th February, 19662nd April, 1969National Liberation Council
Akwasi Afrifa2nd April, 19697th August, 1970National Liberation Council
Nii Amaa Ollenu7th August, 197031st August, 1970Independent
Edward Akuffo Addo31st August, 197013th January, 1972Independent
Ignatius Kutu Acheampong13th January, 19725th July, 1978Supreme Military Council
Fred Akuffo5th July, 19784th June, 1979Supreme Military Council
Jerry John Rawlings4th June, 197924th September, 1979Armed Forces Revolutionary Council
Hilla Limann24th September, 197931st December, 1981People's National Party
Jerry John Rawlings31st December, 19817th January, 1993Provisional National Defence Council
Jerry John Rawlings7th January, 1993`7th January, 2001National Democratic Party
John Agyekum Kuffour7th January, 20017th January, 2009New Patriotic Party
John Evans Atta Mills7th January, 200924th July, 2012National Democratic Congress
John Dramani Mahama24th July, 20127th January, 2017National Democratic Congress
Nana Addo Danquah Akuffo-Addo7th January, 2017to DateNew Patriotic Party