Talensi By-Election; History (1996-2012) ‘Favours’ NDC

The NDC’s John Akologu Tia held the seat for Talensi constituency for 16 years from 1996 to 2012. However, Robert Nachinaab Doameng Mosore of the NPP won the seat in 2012.

See the table for the historical results of votes obtained by NPP and NDC. It appears that history favours NDC. The by-election was necessitated by the enskinment of the incumbent MP as the Paramount Chief of Talensi.

Election YearCandidates (NDC & NPP Only)PartyVotes%Winner
1996John Akologu TiaNDC16,97856.6
Mariam Adukuma Abagna KahldNPP5,75919.2
2000John Akologu TiaNDC9,65545.3
Hajia M.a. Abagna-khaldiNPP7,60735.7
2004John Akologu TiaNDC8,34637.7
Hajia Mariam Abagna KhaldiNPP5,35424.2
2008John Akologu TiaNDC9,54844.29
Bisnab Sebastian TibilNPP7,46934.64
2012Robert Nachinaab Doameng MosoreNPP11,38041.46
John Akologu TiaNDC9,11933.22
Data Source: ghanaelections.peacefmonline.com