Speakers of Parliament of Ghana from 1951 to date

Legislative representation in Ghana dates back to 1950, when the country (then known as Gold Coast) was a British colony.

The body, called the Legislative Council, was purely advisory as the Governor exercised all legislative and executive powers. Reforms were introduced in 1916 and 1925, although the governor’s power remained extensive.

In 1946, a new constitution was introduced that allowed for an unofficial member of the Legislative Council to become its president while the governor ceased to be the ex officio president of the body. This system continued until 1951 when the Legislature elected its first Speaker – Sir Emmanuel Charles Quist.

It’s the third highest position on the land of Ghana.

During the Third Republic, which lasted from 1979 to 1981, the dominant party in the National Assembly was the People’s National Party (PNP), which won 71 out of 104 seats in elections held on 18 June 1979. After the military intervened in 1981, all elected institutions were dissolved and political party activity was prohibited.

Name of SpeakerYear of Reign
Emmanuel Charles Quist 
1951 – 1957
Independent state and First Republic
Augustus Molade Akiwumi 1958 – 1960
Joseph Richard Asiedu 1960 – 1965
Kofi Asante Ofori-Atta 
1965 – 1966
Second Republic (Speaker of National Assembly)
Nii Amaa Ollennu  1969 – 1971
Third Republic (Speaker of National Assembly)
Jacob Hackenbug Griffiths-Randolph  1979 – 1981
Fourth Republic (Speaker of Parliament)
Daniel Francis Annan 1993 – 2001
Peter Ala Adjetey 2001 – 2005
Ebenezer Sekyi Hughes  2005 – 2009
Joyce Adeline Bamford-Addo  2009 – 2013
Edward Adjaho  2013 – 2017
Aaron Mike Oquaye 2017 – Present