President Mahama sacks seven DCEs

mahama-writing-496x330President John Dramani Mahama has directed some seven District Chief Executives (DCEs) to vacate their positions but has also named eight new ones.

The President has named a new DCE for the Nkwanta South District Assembly in the Volta Region  a year after the death of the former DCE, Peter Kojo Kenyeso.

Peter Kojo Kenyeso was gunned down in November 2014 by some unknown assailants at his residence.

Meanwhile the President has appointed Alfred Kofi Wukanya to replace him.Other persons have also been appointed to head various Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies in the country.

A statement from the Flagstaff House said President John Dramani Mahama made the new appointments in accordance with Article 243(1) of the 1992 Constitution and Section 20(1) of the Local Government Act 1993, Act 462.

The new MMDCEs are:

  1. Abura- Asebu- Kwamankese: Frank Pratt
  2. Suhum Municipal: Margaret Ansei
  3. Nkwanta South: Alfred Kofi Wukanya
  4. Sefwi Wiawso: Lawrence Ackah Santana
  5. Bolgatanga: Aboore Adongo Phillip
  6. East Mamprusi: Magnus Jacob Yama Tampuri
  7. Kpandai: Alfred Donkor
  8. Tano North: Apraku Lartey

The statement further directed some of the MMDCEs to vacate their positions.

They include:

  1. Ada West: Anthony Klokpa
  2. Kintampo South: Kwadwo Nyame Datiakwa
  3. East Mamprusi: Imoro Adams
  4. Kpandai: Jasper Jato Maoyi
  5. Upper West Akim: Derek Ohene Asifo
  6. Wassa Amenfi East: Stephen Baidoo
  7. Sene West: Moses Adae Fofie


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.