PHOTO: The Female judges who refused Anas’ bribe

The lead investigator in the judicial bribery scandal, Anas Aremeyaw Anas, has stated that some judges were more than ready to put him behind prison bars for even coming to speak to them about a case.

“Others would not permit me to come and bribe them and their clerks told me that very clearly. Anytime that happened, I left the court premises with a sense of joy and hope. They made me know that justice had no price. There is, indeed, hope for Ghana,” he stated.

According to him, most of the new circuit and district court judges were determined to do their work without any compromise.

“It was their determination and courage to do the right thing that motivated me every day. We as a people must not fail them,” he stated.

“In the course of my investigations into perceived corruption in the Judiciary, I found judges who were ready to uphold their oaths and perform the duties of their office without fear or favour,” he said, adding, “There is hope for Ghana.”

This is contained in a letter to the Chief Justice, Mrs Justice Georgina Wood, dated September 12, 2015, which acknowledges 12 judges who stood their ground to uphold their oaths and dispense justice without fear or favour.

Upright judges

Mr Anas stated that it was an honour to also acknowledge to the Chief Justice that “having submitted a petition to your high office in respect of corrupt judges, I deem it a great honour to present to you some of the good and morally upright judges that I had the honour of coming across”.

He mentioned the judges as Justice Kwasi Boakye (High Court, Wa), Justice Bright Mensah (High Court, Accra), Justice Constance Hometowu (High Court, Accra), Justice Georgina Mensah–Datsa (High Court, Accra), Justice Jennifer Dodoo (High Court, Accra), Justice Afia Serwaa Asare Botwe (High Court, Accra) and Justice Anthony Oppong (High Court, Accra).

From left: Justice Afia Serwaa Asare Botwe, Justice Georgina Mensah Datsa and Justice Jennifer Amanda Dodoo

The rest, he said, were Ms Felicia Gandedze (District Court, Abeka-Accra), Mr Charles Kwasi Acheampong (District Court, Dodowa), Mr Samuel Djanie Kotey (District Court, Ejisu), Mr Abdul Baki Abdulai (District Court, Tuobodom) and Mr Bright Ajosagi (District Court, Kodie).