Chief Justices of Ghana since Independence

President Nana Akufo-Addo has sworn in the new Chief Justice Sophia Abena Boafowaa Akuffo at a short but impressive ceremony at the State House Monday.

The new Chief Justice in a seamless recitation took tree oath – Oath of Allegiance, the Judicial Oath and the Oath of Secrecy – before a host of invited guests including ex-presidents Jerry John Rawlings and John Kufuor, leaders of political parties, members of the diplomatic corps.

Her Ladyship the Chief Justice received the instruments of appointment before signing her way into office as Chief Justice.

She is the second female Chief Justice, having taken over from Georgina Theodora Wood who retired from office early this month.


Below is the list of Chief of Justice we’ve had since Independece.

Name of Chief JusticeYear of Reign
Sir Arku Korsah, Esq.1957 - 1963
J. Sarkodie- Addo, Esq.1964 - 1966
Edward Akuffo-Addo1966 - 1970
E.A.L. Bannerman, Esq.1970 - 1972
Samuel Azu Crabbe, Esq.1973 - 1977
F.K. Apaloo, Esq.1977 - 1986
E.N.P. Sowah, Esq1986 - 1990
Philip Edward Archer, Esq1991 - 1995
Isaac Kobina Abban, Esq.1995 - 2001
Edward Kwame Wiredu2001 - 2003
George Kingsley Acquah2003 - 2007
Georgina Theodora Wood2007 - 2017
Sophia Akuffo2017- to Date