New Abuakwa North MP sworn in


The new Member of Parliament for Abuakwa North Constituency has been officially sworn in by the Speaker of Parliament, Rt. Hon. Edward Doe Ajaho.

Gifty Twum Apofo was elected in a by-election after the Member of Parliament for the area was gruesomely murdered by some assailants in his residence.

The National Democratic Congress did not contest.

Gifty Twum Apofo who is the Eastern Regional president of the Ghana Science Teachers Association (GAST) 10,033 votes in the by-election.

The Speaker of Parliament after swearing her in on Tuesday, May 17, advised her to emulate the principles of the late MP, J.B Danquah-Adu.

Clad in a ‘Kaba and slit’ made from Kente cloth with a blue muffler and standing at the right-hand side of the Speaker, she took the oath of office as an MP and signed the necessary documents.




Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.