#NDCDecides: Voting underway

ndc-voters-sunyani-east-and-west_600x338-600x330Voting has begun in all the over 8,000 centres across the nation in the National Democratic Congress’ (NDC) parliamentary and presidential primaries.

Already, the Amenfi West constituency has a candidate in the person of Mr. Eric Afful.

Voting in that constituency took place on Wednesday due to a by-election expected to be held in that constituency following the death of Mr. John Gyentuah, the MP for the constituency.Greater Accra Region

In Accra, Mr. Alfred Oko VAnderpuijie who is the Mayor of Accra is facing a stiff competition from Mr. Wisdom Nii Amoo Dodoo, a businessman and grass-root member of the party who is contesting the parliamentary slot for the third time in Ablekuma South.

The incumbent MP, Fedric Fritz Baffour is however not voting.

Out of the total 106 aspirants in the Greater Accra region, 12 are females, including Oboubia Darko, the Deputy Chief Executive Officer of the Free Zones Board and a daughter of former President Ezenator Rawlings who is giving Nii Armah Ashitey the incumbent of Member of Parliament for the Klottey Korle constituency a keen competition, among otthers.

In the Ningo Prampram constituency Mr, Sam Nortey Goerge will battle with who people describe as “Prampram Mugabe”, E.T Mensah to represent the party in the 2016 elections.

Volta Region

In the Volta Region, 95 aspirants, comprising 12 females and 83 males are contesting slots in the 26 constituencies.

The party has ahead of the primaries suspended a disqualified parliamentary aspirant in Ketu South, Jim Yao Morti while another contender, Albert Zigah has also been disqualified.

The disqualification of the two reduces to two the number of candidates seeking to unseat the incumbent MP who is also the Minister of Food and Agriculture,  Fiifi Kwetey.

The Ketu North will be another interesting constituency too watch out for as James Klutse Avedzi from Afife area contests three others, Steve K.M Ahiawodor, Mr. Don Emmanuel Agbanyo and Mr. Kwaku Treveh- all from the same town; Dzodze.

Western Region

In the Western Region, the incumbent Member of Parliament for the Ahanta West, Mr. George Aboagye and Mr. Sam Pee Yalley who lost by six votes in the 2012 primary  are competing for the same position.

In Sekondi, a former Deputy Regional Minister, Madam Bosomtwi-Dam and two others- Mr. Emmanuel Assifuah and Ms Charlotte Otuwa Odum are expected to give a former MCE , Captian Anthony Cudjoe (retd) stiff competition.

In Jomro, the incumbent MP and former Air Force pilot, Wing Commander, Farncies Kabenlah Anaman opted out ahead of the primaries after the constituents claimed he was not active in the constituency after he won the 2012 election.

Central Region 

A younger brother of the late President, Mr. Samuel Atta Mills will be contesting in Komenda Edina-Eguafo-Abrem constituency.

Three others vying for the same slot in the constituency are Mr. Mathew Kwoffie who is the current constituency secretary, Mr. Francies Asamah, a Takoradi based lawyer and the incumbent MP, Mr. Abeiku Crentsil.

The Chief Executive Officer of the Ghana Investment Fund, Mr. Kobby Acheampong hopes to win in the Cape Coast North constituency but will have to face Mr. Egyir Aikins, a former Chief Executive of the Cape Coast Metropolitan Assembly.

Upper East Region

The NDC currently occupies 13 out of the 15 seats in the region while the NPP and the Poeople’s National Convention have one seat each.

Forty eight parliamentary aspirants of the NDC, including two unopposed, are ready to contest the primaries.

Out of the 48, only three are women, Madam Vivian Anafo, the DCE for Nabdam; Haija Laadi Ayii Ayamba, the MP for Pusiga, and Dr. Vida Nyagre, a Lecturer at the University for Development Studies.

Meanwhile a High Court in Wa in the region has thrown out a case brought against one of the four parliamentary aspirants in the Nadowli-Kaleo constituency.

One of the three aspirants hoping to unseat the Majority Leader, Alban Bagbin, filed a suit seeking to disqualify a contender, Roger Galeh from the race.

Citi News’ Upper West Regional correspondent, Latif Mahama who was at the court today reported that : “the Wa High Court presided over by Kwesi Boakye threw out the case involving an aspirant of the NDC Parliamentary primaries in the Nadowli constituency. The court held that Mr. Jawara who is the plaintiff did not exhaust the party dispute resolution mechanism so the court awarded a cost of 5,000 cedis to be given to the defendant

Ashanti Region

The Majority Chief Whip and MP for Asawase, Alhaji Muntaka Mubarak will run unopposed, while the incumbent MP for New Edubiase, Mr Kofi Yakah has two people who will be challenging him.

These are the representative of the grassroots, Nicholas Yeboah and the brother of the owner of New Edubiase Football Club, Abdul Salam.

98 parliamentary aspirants of the NDC are expected to vie for 47 slots during the primaries in the Ashanti Region.

Brong Ahafo Region

The NDC currently occupies 16 out of the 29 seats in the Brong Ahafo region while 13 seats are occupied by the New Patriotic Party.

Seats in the region include Asunafo South, Asutifi South, Nkoranza South, Pru East, Pru West among others.

Northern Region 

Key constituencies to look out for in the Northern Region are Tamale Central, Tamale North, Sagnarigu, Mion and Yapei.

There are two sitting MPs in the region who are being contested keenly.

They are Inusah Fuseini, the MP for Tamale Central and Minister for Roads and Highways, and Dr. Ahmed Alhassan Yakubu, the MP for Mion and  Deputy Minister of Food and Agriculture.

Fuseini is being contested by Alhaji Ibrahim Seidu, an engineer and Director at the Feeder Roads Department, and one Alhassan Adam.

Dr. Yakubu is being challenged by six other aspirants: Dr Du-Awia, Mohammed Zakaria, the 41 year old Director of the School Social Work; Mohammed Abdul-Aziz, Mr. Alhassan Adam among others.

Voting in 6 constituencies suspended

The National Democratic Congress (NDC) has suspended its scheduled primaries in six constituencies.

These constituencies are Akwatia, Ketu South, North Tongu, Nkwanta South, Bunkpurugu and the Chiana Paga.

source: citifmonline.com

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.