Miss Africa Fashion & Cultural show lives up to expectation

medium_php201A.tmpThe fashion and cultural show was also a knockout stage where only 15 finalists were plucked from 41 contestants to take part in the finale of Miss Africa Botswana on November 6, at the Gaborone International Convention Centre (GICC). The finalists competed on the state of the art ramp. The models did catwalks and talent displays such as dance, poetry and singing. The fashion and cultural show was well attended.

Contestants showcased African culture. Models gave it their all on the ramp, showasing their catwalk experience, which was one of the deciding factors for the judges.

The talent displays saw the young women presenting different talents on different levels. Designers on the night showcased a lot of creativity.   The 10 upcoming fashion designers who dressed the models are Janet Sebolai, Moses Mothathedi, Lucia Matumba, Millie Morake, Connie Senyatso, Abigail Sehunelo, Obonetse Dibeela, Boitumelo Seboko, Thato Mminatau and Lorato Barwabatsile.

The moment of truth came when the judges; Ephraim Molingoana, Nokuthaba Manungo, Ednah Ncube and Boingotlo Motlalakgosi selected the Top 15 models.

People from as far as Zimbabwe, South Africa and Lesotho attended the inaugural event. The audience was treated to free JC Le Roux champagne to quench their thirst.  Hosts Benson Phutego and Bonang Matheba kept the mood alive with their rich stage experience. However, some of the people who attended the show stated that they were not satisfied with the event, while others including Miss Africa Zimbabwe licence holder, Sarah Mpofu said they were pleased with the whole event, especially the African concept. The night was closed with an electrifying performance by Grammy award-winning ensemble, Lady Smith Black Mambazo. The top 15 finalists in no particular order are: Uua Murangi, Michelle Gaokgethelwe, Peelo Mookodi, Kaelo Makgobo, Modioki Gaborone, Judith Kgwadi, Phatsimo Boagi, Monica Mhlauli, Warona Josephs,

Onalethata Tlale, Tseo Seitiso, Olorato Taleyana, Kuda Mpalawali, Phio Ntloyakhumo, Neelo Nthobatsang.

source: mmegi.bw