Ghana basketball awards Friday


The University of Ghana (UG) basketball team is expected to dominate the 2016 Ghana Basketball Awards which takes place on Friday at the Best Western Premier Hotel in Accra.
spOrganised by Rite Multimedia, the nominees will vie for both individual and team honours in over 11 categories.

Customs Excise and Preventive Service (CEPS) star, Hashim Brimah, Abdul Mutaleb Alhassan of the Accra Polytechnic, the University of Ghana’s (UG) talented forward Maxwell Okoampa and Suleman Abubakari (Accra Poly) are expected to vie for the Overrall Male Player of the Year.

Okoampa is the favourite for the award after leading the UG basketball team to victory in three different competitions. He won the Ghana Universities Sports Association and the All Africa University Games basketball title in Johannesburg, South Africa.

Meme Falconer, the coach of the all-conquering UG team, is expected to go home with the Coach of the Year gong in a category that also has the experienced Brimah Lawal (Accra Poly), as well as James Okine (Marshalls University College)

The Male High School Player of the Year category will be contested by Dennis Dugbennu of the St Augustine’s College, Kofi Aboagye of Opoku Ware School and Kofi Aboagye Acheampong of Mfantsipim School.

Joana Danso and Juliana Cudjoe both of the Aggrey Memorial Senior High School (SHS) will face-off with lanky Mamata Yusif in the High School Female Player of the Year category.

The Minister of Youth and Sports, Nii Lante Vanderpuye, as well as officials of the National Sports Authority (NSA), Ghana Basketball Association (GBA) is expected to grace the event.


Source: GraphicOnline