Districts, Municipals and Metropolitans in Ghana and Their Capitals I

Ghana is a unitary presidential constitutional democracy, located along the Gulf of Guinea and Atlantic Ocean, in the subregion of West Africa. Ghana has Accra as it’s capital city and a total population of about 27 million. Spanning a land mass of 238,535 km², Ghana is bordered by the Ivory Coast in the west, Burkina Faso in the north, Togo in the east and the Gulf of Guinea and Atlantic Ocean in the south.

The country has 10 regions with ten regional capitals.

The Districts of Ghana are second-level administrative subdivisions of Ghana, below the level of region.

The districts of Ghana were re-organized in 1988/1989 in an attempt to decentralize the government and to combat the rampant corruption amongst officials.

The reform of the late 1980s subdivided the regions of Ghana into 110 districts, where local district assemblies should deal with the local administration.

By 2006, an additional 28 districts were created by splitting some of the original 110, bringing their number up to 138. In February 2008, there were more districts created and some were upgraded to municipal status.

This brought the final number to 170 districts in Ghana. Since then, a further 46 districts have been added since 28 June 2012 bringing the total to 216 districts.



Below is a table of the distirct, metropolitans districts and their capitals in Ashanti Region. The Region has  30 districts which are made up of 1 Metropolitan,  7 Municipals and 22 Ordinary districts.

Ashanti RegionAdansi NorthFomena
Ashanti RegionAdansi SouthNew Edubiase
Ashanti RegionAfigya-KwabreKodie
Ashanti RegionAhafo Ano SouthMankraso
Ashanti RegionAhafo Ano NorthTepa
Ashanti RegionAmansie CentralJacobu
Ashanti RegionAmansie WestManso Nkwanta
Ashanti RegionAsante Akyem North Municipal DistrictKonongo - Odumase
Ashanti RegionAsante Akyem SouthJuaso
Ashanti RegionAtwima MponuaNyinahin
Ashanti RegionAtwima NwabiagyaNkwawie
Ashanti RegionBosome FrehoAsiwa
Ashanti RegionBosomtweKuntanase
Ashanti RegionEjura SekyedumaseEjura
Ashanti RegionKwabre EastMamponteng
Ashanti RegionOffinso NorthAkomadan
Ashanti RegionSekyere Afram PlainsKumawu
Ashanti RegionSekyere CentralNsuta
Ashanti RegionSekyere EastEffiduase
Ashanti RegionSekyere SouthAgona
Ashanti RegionKumawu
Ashanti RegionAtwima KwanwomaOfoase-Kokoben
Ashanti RegionAsante Akyem Central Municipal DistrictKonongo- Odumasi
Ashanti RegionAsokore Mampong Municipal DistrictAsokore Mampong
Ashanti RegionBekwai Municipal DistrictBekwai
Ashanti RegionEjisu Juaben Municipal DistrictEjisu
Ashanti RegionMampong Municipal DistrictMampong
Ashanti RegionObuasi Municipal DistrictObuasi
Ashanti RegionOffinso South Municipal DistrictOffinso



The Brong Ahafo Region of Ghana was created in April 1959. The region has 27 districts. There 8 municipal districts and 19 ordinary districts.

Brong Ahafo RegionAsunafo SouthKukuom
Brong Ahafo RegionAsutifiKenyasi
Brong Ahafo RegionAsutufi SouthHwidiem
Brong Ahafo RegionBandaBanda Ahenkro
Brong Ahafo RegionDormaa EastWamfie
Brong Ahafo RegionDormaa WestNkrankwanta
Brong Ahafo RegionJaman NorthSampa
Brong Ahafo RegionJaman SouthNew Drobo
Brong Ahafo RegionKintampo SouthJema
Brong Ahafo RegionNkoranza NorthBusunya
Brong Ahafo RegionNkoranza SouthNkoranza
Brong Ahafo RegionPruYeji
Brong Ahafo RegionSeneKwame Danso
Brong Ahafo RegionSene WestKajaji
Brong Ahafo RegionSunyani WestOdumasi
Brong Ahafo RegionTainNsawkaw
Brong Ahafo RegionTano NorthDuayaw Nkwanta
Brong Ahafo RegionTano SouthBechem
Brong Ahafo RegionTechiman NorthTuobodom
Brong Ahafo RegionAsunafo North Municipal DistrictGoaso
Brong Ahafo RegionAtebubu Amantin Municipal DistrictAtebubu
Brong Ahafo RegionBerekum Municipal DistrictBerekum
Brong Ahafo RegionDormaa Municipal DistrictDormaa Ahenkro
Brong Ahafo RegionKintampo North Muncipal DistrictKintampo
Brong Ahafo RegionSunyani Municipal DistrictSunyani
Brong Ahafo RegionTechiman Municipal DistrictTechiman
Brong Ahafo RegionWenchi Municipal DistrictWenchi



The Central Region is one of the ten administrative regions of Ghana. It is bordered by Ashanti and Eastern regions to the north, Western region to the west, Greater Accra region to the east, and to the south by the Gulf of Guinea. The Central region is renowned for its many elite higher education institutions.

The Central Region has 20 districts. These are made up of 1 metropolitan, which is Cape Coast Metropolitan with Cape coast as it’s capital, 6 municipal and 13 ordinary districts.

Central RegionAbura/Asebu/KwamankeseAbura Dunkwa
Central RegionAgona EastNsaba
Central RegionAjumako/Enyan/EssiamAjumako
Central RegionAsikuma/Odoben/BrakwaBreman Asikuma
Central RegionAssin SouthNsuaem Kyekyewere
Central RegionAwutu Senya EastKasoa
Central RegionAwutu SenyaAwutu Breku
Central RegionEkumfiEssarkyir
Central RegionGomoa EastAfransi
Central RegionGomoa WestApam
Central RegionTwifo/Heman/Lower DenkyiraTwifo Praso
Central RegionUpper Denkyira WestDiaso
Central RegionAgona West Municipal DistrictAgona Swedru
Central RegionAssin North Municipal DistrictAssin Foso
Central RegionKomenda/Edina/Eguafo/Abire Municipal DistrictElmina
Central RegionMfantsemanSaltpond
Central RegionUpper Denkyira EastDunkwa-on-Offin
Central RegionEffutu Municipal DistrictWinneba
Central RegionTwifo- Ati MokwaTwifo Praso