Dede for Lion d’Or African top award

34404672.295Ghana star Andre Ayew has been named in a 10-man shortlist for the 2015 Lion dOr announced by the renowned Moroccan newspaper Al Mountakhab.

The newspaper aggregates vote to install the best African Player and has been doing that since 2004.

Ayew faces stern competition from holder Yaya Toure of Manchester City who will be seeking a third straight title.

Others on the list are Algeria’s Yassine Ibrahimi, Medhi Benatia, Mohamed Salah and Aymen Abdennour.

The rest are Riyad Mahrez, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Gervais Yao Kouassi and Serge Aurier.

Ivory Coast star Didier Drogba holds the Golden Lion record. He won 4 times before Samuel Eto’o who was awarded 3 times.

List of players nominated for Lion dOr-2015

Yaya Toure (Manchester City / GB).
Yassine Ibrahimi (FC Porto / POR).
Medhi Benatia (Bayern Munich / GER).
Mohamed Salah (AS Roma / ITA)
Andre Ayew (Swansea City / GB).
Aymen Abdennour (CF Valencia / ESP).
Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City / GB).
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund / GER).
Gervais Yao Kouassi Gervinho (AS Roma / ITA).
10.Serge Aurier (PSG / FRA).
Previous winners:

2004: Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon).

2005: Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast).

2006: Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast).

2007: Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast).

2008: Mohamed Abu Treika (Egypt).

2009: Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon).

2010: Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon).

2011: Seydou Keita (Mali).

2012: Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast).

2013: Yaya Tour (Ivory Coast).

2014: Yaya Tour (Ivory Coast).


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.