Court rules against five MPs in Takoradi Port expansion case

The Secondi High Court Friday morning dismissed a case brought by five Members of Parliament (MPs), which prayed the court to remove a restriction government imposed on further expansion of oil and gas facilities at the Takoradi Port.

The five MPs are Kwaku Kwarteng for Obuasi West, Kwabena Okyere Darko for Takoradi, Joseph Cudjoe for Effia, Mavis Hawa Koomson for Ewutu Senya and Kofi Brako for Tema Central.

Dismissing the case, the court said it could not reverse a decision made by Parliament.

According to the Daily Graphic’s Moses Dotsey Aklorbortu who was in court, the court said the five MPS were present when Parliament voted to approve the contract which contained those restrictions.

On July 17, 2014, Parliament approved an agreement made between Ghana Government and a British company, Lonrho Ports, for the development of an oil and gas Freeport in the Western Region.

Clause seven of the said agreement bars Takoradi Port from further expanding its facilities for oil and gas until Lonrho has built its Freeport, recovered all its cost and made enough profit.

The agreement actually bars all persons or companies from building any oil and gas port facilities in the entire Western Region until Lonrho has recovered its investment and made its profit.

But the five MPs argued in court that the restriction imposed on a national port like the Takoradi Port was unlawful.

In their affidavit, they said the restriction offends section five of the Ghana Ports & Harbours Authority Act and have, therefore, prayed the court to remove the restriction.

Source : Graphic Online

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.