Asante Kotoko beat AshGold to win 2015 SWAG Cup

Defender-Eric-DonkorA last-minute free kick from Eric Donkor gave Asante Kotoko the 2015 SIC H.P Nyametei SWAG Cup, over regional rivals and league champions AshGold at the Baba Yara Stadium on Sunday.

The result means that, Kotoko has won the cup 14 times despite being forced to work hard for it.

Their coach David Duncan tried out some of the fringe players and new acquisitions (in Edwin Tuffour, Richard Osei Agyemang, Theophilus Nyame, Bennett Ofori and Stephen Nyarko) and they had to deal with attacks from the Miners who were seeking to add the trophy to their 2015 Premier League title.

However, neither they or Kotoko got any goals in the first half. Kotoko looked better in the second half.

They went to find goals and were finally rewarded when Eric Donkor scored a free kick in the 90th minute past AshGold’s substitute goalie, Nana Bonsu, who had been brought on ahead of a possible penalty shootout.

The win gives Kotoko some silverware as consolation after they failed to win the league and MTN FA Cup.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.