Andre Ayew makes CAF Player shortlist

Andre-Ayew-StarsGhana’s Andre Ayew has been named in the final shortlist for the CAF Player of the Year Award.

The Swansea midfielder and Christian Atsu were part of the initial 37-man shortlist put out by CAF but a final list put out by CAF on Monday has Ayew in and Atsu out.

Ayew was part of the Ghana team that lost 8-7 to Cote d’Ivoire in the final of the 2015 AFCON in Equatorial Guinea and was named as the tournament’s top scorer.

Current CAF Player of the Year, Yaya Toure, and his international team-mate Serge Aurier are on the shortlist as well as current BBC African Footballer of the Year, Yacine Brahimi, Algerian winger Sofiane Feghouli, Egyptian forward Mohamed Salah, and Senegal forward Sadio Mane.

Top 10

Dortmund and Gabonese forward Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang also made the list. Winners will be voted for coaches or technical directors of the federations affiliated to CAF.

The awards ceremony will be held in Abuja, Nigeria on the 7th of January, 2016.

Below is the list nominees shortlisted for the CAF Player of the Year Award: André Ayew (Ghana & Swansea) Aymen Abdennour (Tunisia & Valencia) Mudather Eltaib Ibrahim ‘Karika’ (Sudan & El Hilal) Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Roma) Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund) Sadio Mané (Senegal & Southampton) Serge Aurier (Cote d’Ivoire & Paris Saint Germain) Sofiane Feghouli (Algeria & Valencia) Yacine Brahimi ( Algeria & Porto) Yaya Touré (Cote d’Ivoire & Manchester City).


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.