7 Interesting facts about National Science and Maths Quiz Winners [1994 to date]

  1. Prempeh College was the first school to win the competition in 1994.
  2. Only 11 schools out of the hundreds of senior high schools in Ghana have won the competition since its inception to date.
  3. Of the 11 schools which have won the competition, 10 are boys’ schools and only 1 (Achimota) is a mixed school.
  4. Presec Boys has won it the most. They won it in 1995, 2003, 2006, 2008 and 2009.
  5. Only Presec Boys has won the competition for two consecutive years (2008 and 2009).
  6. In terms of regions, schools in Greater Accra Region have won it the most followed by Ashanti Region, Eastern Region, Central Region and Western Region respectively. No school in Volta, Brong Ahafo, Upper East, Upper West and Northern Regions has ever won the competition.
  7. Surprisingly,  no girls’ school has ever won the competition although there are good girls’ schools such as Wesley Girls, Aburi girls, etc.

See below for the league table of winners of the competition to date. This was used as basis for the above.

Winning SchoolNumber of timesYear(s) won
Presbyterian Boys' SHS51995, 2003, 2006, 2008, 2009
Prempeh College41994, 1996, 2015, 2017
Achimota School21998, 2004
Mfantsipim School21999, 2014
Opoku Ware School21997, 2002
St. Peter's SHS32000, 2005, 2018
Ghana Secondary Technical School12012
Pope John SHS12001
St. Augustine's College12007
Adisadel College12016
St. Thomas Aquinas SHS12013

Credit: Kwabena Boateng/GCP

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.